Fitting the Pieces Together

Now that you have a deeper understanding of the different learning theories and learning styles, how has your view on how you learn changed?

I suppose that through the last seven weeks and all of the research and resources that have been reviewed there I have a greater understanding of learning theories that I had no clue were so intertwined.  It was interesting to see that during Week 1 of this course I was very close minded and thought that I was only effective in learning with only using one learning theory.  However, now that I have looked at the resources available throughout this course and for research for the Learning Theory Matrix assignment I have realized that it is essential for me to use several different learning theories to have a complete understanding of the content then just using one theory.

What have you learned about the various learning theories and learning styles over the past weeks that can further explain your own personal learning preferences?

I began this course thinking that I was more comfortable learning through the Behaviorist Learning Theory.  However, I now know that I also am comfortable with Social Learning Theory as well.  I have always been the person in the group that takes over and just completes the assignment if the rest of the group will not step up, but I also thoroughly enjoy if I am working in a group setting and there is knowledge being passed throughout the group so that everyone is learning new information.  I strongly believe that everyone has something different to put into a situation and through the Social Learning Theory it is the way that the learning theory works.

What role does technology play in your learning (i.e., as a way to search for information, to record information, to create, etc.)?

As of right now, technology plays a huge part in my learning.  It is the lifeline of communication, research, discussions, assignments, group work, interaction (of any kind with students and professors) and pretty much everything else that my education needs at the time.  It is imperative that all things with technology work properly or I am at a loss for all things involving my education.  I know the importance of the information that can be acquired through the technology that I use on a daily basis for my education, as well as my job.

Leave a Reply

